Stuffed Peppers

So a little heads up for anyone following my recipes, when I cook I don’t use exact measurements, what I give are estimates of about how much.  Also I make things up on the spot a lot and so have a couple variations of recipes depending on what I have available at the time so I’ll put *s by any ingredients I switch up also check for notes at the end.

Recipe

 

Yields 3 large red peppers or 4 smaller green ones

Prep time: 30 minutes

Cook time: 20 minutes

Ingredients

-Peppers (number dependent on if you want red or green, see above)

-1/2 lb of ground meat *

-1/2 cup chopped onion

-1 cup of quinoa**

-1 can of tomato sauce

-2 tsp of fresh garlic

-cheese for topping

-Seasoned Salt

-Additional seasonings I have switched out and liked are chili powder or oregano and basil

*I use ground turkey meat, because it’s cheaper and healthier than ground beef but ground beef works just as well.  I imagine other ground meats would be easily substituted as well. I also like to buy it in the 3 lb roll and then split it in 6 sections which I keep in the freezer until I’m ready to use them

**the quinoa I swap out for rice or pasta and cook according to directions that come with their packaging

Instructions

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees
  • Cut the tops off of peppers and clear out seeds and membranes and rinse out. Then boil peppers for 20 minutes
  • In a separate pan brown the meat and onions and garlic, then remove grease with a paper towel and add seasoning
  • Combine cooked quinoa and meat and can of tomato sauce
  • Place peppers open side up in pan – use a pan where the peppers are close together and can keep each other from tipping if the bottoms are uneven
  • Fill peppers with sauce and top with cheese
  • Cook for 20 minutes or until cheese is melted and bubbling

 

*if you prefer you can skip boiling the peppers but you have to cook them for about an hour that way

** I don’t like to use all the filling sauce and use the leftovers in another recipe I’ll put up soon called Unsloppy Joes

 

-Shana

2 thoughts on “Stuffed Peppers

Leave a Reply

