Quotes (for the week!)

We all seek learning in various ways & we all get different impressions, even when we read the same quote. Hopefully this quotes page will give you some hope & inspiration!

Sunday September 4, 2016:

“Life is like riding a bicycle; to keep your balance you must keep moving forward.”- Albert Einstein

When things seem rough/tough in life, just like the lesson of learning to balance on a bike (physically), we need to learn how to correctly balance ourselves in a manner that keeps us in forward motion. -Katie

Saturday September 3,2016:

“My concern is not whether God is on my side; my greatest concern is to be on God’s side, for God is always right.”-Abraham Lincoln

President Lincoln makes such a good point here, that was elaborated on by President Uchtdorf recently. “God does not need us, but OH how we need Him!” Being on God’s side is going to provide us the support & protection we need in these last days. -Katie

Friday September 2, 2016:

“Those who stand for nothing, fall for anything.” -Alexander Hamilton

Hamilton said concisely & well here what it takes to be a committed person with integrity. We all have our little “causes” in life, but if we don’t stand up for them, it’s quite simple to be dissuaded or convinced otherwise.  – Katie

Thursday September 1, 2016:

“Women…rock a sobbing child without wondering if today’s world is passing you by, because you know you hold tomorrow tightly in your arms.” -Elder Maxwell

I had to at least post one “mom” quote this week; it’s been hard to stay home from my career as a new school year just started. It feels weird/strange….until I remember that I will become a mother to this little guy in December.  I know that some of the most valuable education my son is going to receive, will come from me; I also know I can be a better mom to him by staying home during his growing years. It’s still a tough call to make though! -Katie

Wednesday August 31, 2016:

“Any society that will give up a little liberty to gain a little security, will deserve neither & lose both.” -Benjamin Franklin

Although I try not to mix too much political opinion into my everyday conversation, I think this is a very telling statement by Ben Franklin. We should all be a little hesitant any time we are being asked to give up liberty in any form; especially when doing so does not guarantee more security for us as a nation. -Katie

 

Tuesday August 30, 2016:

“In the end, it’s not the years in your life that count. It’s the life in your years.” -Abraham Lincoln 

There are many reasons why I chose this quote. First of all, today is my 29th birthday! A friend asked if I felt any “wiser,” but I informed her I think that will come as I continue preparing for motherhood & the time when I actually spend as a mother to my young son. There are certain life experiences that are the best teacher for an individual, & I feel like being a parent will be one of those.  I also hope to be able to say, some day, that I packed a lot of quality life into those years! 😉  – Katie

 Monday August 29, 2016:

“Ultimately, freedom involves choice between eternal alternatives, but not the altering of the alternatives.” -Neal A. Maxwell

Many times we hope to change the outcome of things, but there is a set course in life once we make certain decisions. So what it comes down to, is choosing between the two things of a lasting eternal nature, accepting that there really isn’t any changing or going back once we’ve made that decision. When dealing with eternity, we need to be doing things on a daily basis to prepare us for that desirable freedom. -Katie

 Sunday August 28, 2016

“Among the greatest lessons we are to learn in this short sojourn upon the earth are lessons that help us distinguish between what is important and what is not. I plead with you not to let those most important things pass you by as you plan for that illusive and nonexistent future when you will have time to do all that you want to do. Instead, find joy in the journey—now.” -President Thomas S. Monson 

Sometimes it can be difficult to determine what the most important things are, but there is so much to be enjoyed during life’s day-to-day occurrences. Even a “bad day” can have some good in it. 🙂  -Katie

Leave a Reply

