Quote of the Day (Week of 10/24/16)

Sunday October 30, 2016:

“We act as though comfort & luxury were the chief requirements of life, when all we need to make us happy is something to be enthusiastic about.” -Charles Kingsley

This is an instant recipe to instill self induced happiness, since we often think that the padded comfort riches bring is all we’ll need in this life! But much more meaningful than the superficiality that riches bring, is something we actually feel passionate about & can participate or engage in frequently to bring ourselves some measure of joy.

Saturday October 29, 2016:

“It is in no man’s power to have whatever he wants; but he has it in his power not to wish for what he hasn’t got, & cheerfully make the most of the things that do come his way.” -Seneca

I think I am generally a happier person when I take note of the great things that have come my way. If I spend my days wishing for that which I don’t have, I am certainly unhappier.

Friday October 28, 2016:

“The conduct of our lives is the true reflection of our thoughts.” -Michel de Montaigne

We have often heard it said that actions are a direct result of our thought process, & that is precisely what this quote intends to remind us of!

Thursday October 27, 2016:

“The world breaks everyone, then some become strong at the broken places.” -Ernest Hemingway

This isn’t necessarily a “fuzzy, feel good” kind of quote, but it’s a true statement. I believe that as we turn to God in the moments we’re not strong enough & when we are feeling thoroughly broken & beaten down, we can gain the strength we need.

Wednesday October 26, 2016:

“Everything that irritates us about others can lead us to an understanding of ourselves.” -Carl Jung 

Often when I find myself critical of another’s nature, it is absolutely true that it’s an underlying annoyance I have with myself. That, or I feel insecure about some personality quirk or trait in particular; this would be a good time to re-frame my mindset so that I can change that trait or work on improving it instead.

Tuesday October 25, 2016:

“The happiness of those who want to be popular depends on others; the happiness of those who seek pleasure fluctuates with moods outside their control; but the happiness of the wise grows out of their own free acts.” – Marcus Aurelius

Those who truly seek happiness will soon realize that it comes from within. We can & should choose to be happy every day, because it will help us come to love ourselves & others better.

Monday October 24, 2016:

“The instrument through which you see God is your whole self.  And if a man’s self is not kept clean and bright, his glimpse of God will become blurred.”- C.S. Lewis

Since God is our maker, it makes sense that by looking at & considering oneself, we see & understand Him better. The best version of ourselves is what allows us to see the potential for who we can truly become.

(I hope these thoughts/quotes add a little kick to your step, or a bring a little pep to your life this week! 🙂 I have tried to find all uplifting, self-loving quotes, because I personally could use a little bit more of that good stuff.)

-Katie

Leave a Reply

