Quotes of the Day (2/13/17-2/19/17)

Saturday 2/18:

“All our life as it has definite form, is but a mass of habits–practical, emotional, & intellectual, –systematically organized for our wear or woe, & bearing us irresistibly toward our destiny.” – William James

Another perfect quote on forming habits (as a sneak preview to what’s coming in our book club discussion next month.) If we think about everyday decisions, that lead to habits, we will most likely be much more “on track” in our daily efforts, working towards said destiny.

Friday 2/17:

“People pay for what they do, & still more, for what they have allowed themselves to become. And they pay for it very simply: by the lives they lead.” -James Baldwin 

Well, our lives are the proof of the decisions we’ve made & the habits we’ve formed. It doesn’t necessitate verbalizing what we’ve done or accomplished when our lives are the very proof of who we are.

Thursday 2/16:

“Whatever liberates our spirit without giving us mastery over ourselves is destructive.” -Goethe

I would say that self-mastery is one of the greatest feats of all time; as I continue to read this self-help book on forming habits & breaking bad ones, that is the motif that sticks out in my mind. And liberating our spirits should be a daily, ongoing focus or goal; that will make us truly happy in the end.

Wednesday, 2/15:

“She knew she loved him when ‘home’ went from being a place, to being a person.” -E. Leventhal

This is how I feel love & home are represented in my life now; moving states taught me this. I feel “home” is wherever my son & husband are, now.

Tuesday, 2/14:

“Do not be dismayed by the brokenness of the world. All things break. And all things can be mended. Not with time, as they say, but with intention. So go. Love intentionally, extravagantly, unconditionally. The broken world waits in darkness for the light that is you.”-L.R. Knost

Love is an intentional emotion– that is deep. And we can repair so much in this world, with pure love; you, yes you, can make a difference with your love.

Happy Valentines Day! ❤

Monday, 2/13:

“Surely there are times when other people and/or circumstances contribute to our problems, but it is we who must rise to the occasion & take responsibility for our own happiness. Circumstances don’t make a person, they reveal him or her. When you stop blaming others, you will regain your sense of personal power.” -Richard Carlson

I like to think the various trials & circumstances I’ve had in this life are, based on my reaction to them, making me a better & stronger me. I also like the sense of accountability when I choose to pinpoint what I am doing in my life that needs to change.

-Katie

Leave a Reply

