Paleo Lunch Dish: Chicken Quinoa Bowl

img_3385In starting my diet recently as a cognizant breastfeeding mama, who has an infant with a sensitive tummy, I have become quite creative in my meal planning. (This is a dairy-free, paleo special, by the way.) Being on a diet is a pretty new arena for me, so I am going about this the best way possible.  “The real key to habits is decision making or more accurately, the lack of decision making.”- Gretchen Rubin

 A habit no longer requires a decision from me on a daily basis, because I’ve already decided & committed to eating this way now.

So, without further ado, here’s my favorite new recipe for lunch time.

Ingredients:

1 chicken breast

½ avocado

2 tablespoons of olive oil

1 pinch of sea salt

1 cup of quinoa* + 1.5 cups of water

1 corn cob

1 bell pepper

¼ red onion

½ lime (for the juice)

*Prepare the quinoa as mentioned on the package; I like to dry roast it in a pan before simmering it in the pot of water for 15 minutes. It gives it a good taste & then serves as a protein. #lifehack

Then I squeeze the lime juice over it while it’s still warm, after fluffing it with a fork & adding that pinch of salt. Then in a separate pan, I put the olive oil on it, heat the stovetop & grill the veggies (with the exception of the avocado.) Warning: the corn cob takes a minute longer of being rolled around to get the roasted corn effect.

Pat the chicken breast dry with paper towels & then salt & pepper it to taste. (Sometimes I use garlic powder too.) Warm up a tablespoon of oil in another frying pan & cook the chicken. Once the chicken is done, add it all to one big bowl; buen provecho!

 

-Katie

Leave a Reply

