“Better than Before” (March Book Club)

3/10/17

Today I am treasuring the concept of inconvenience. What an intriguing comment, you say? It helps us stick to our new, good habits better as Rubin mentions in this book. The harder it is to complete a task, the less impulsive we will be. And I happen to be a very impulsive person, so this gem of truth speaks volumes for me. Here are the 6 tips Rubin suggests we implement to make an activity or task less convenient:

  • Increase the amount of physical or mental energy required to complete the task
  • Hide any cues
  • Delay it
  • Raise the cost
  • Engage in an incompatible activity
  • Block it altogether

So let’s take my addiction to online shopping, specifically, Amazon.com, which is my major weakness while I’m breastfeeding my son. If I log out of amazon on my phone, that’s one item that makes my online shopping less breezy now; I’m increasing the mental energy required to make a purchase. I delay my online shopping and perusal or postpone it until the baby needs to eat again (or maybe every other time). When we refer to raising the cost, my husband & I have worked out a deal of how much I’m allowed to spend online at any given point. If I put it in the “save for later” category then it aids in this step. Perhaps instead of online shopping I use 30 mins. of the baby napping to clean the house or do a little exercise; thus I have engaged in an incompatible activity that will keep me away from my phone & computer. Blocking it all together will take more self -control than I currently possess, but ultimately, that’s what I want/need to do. Just ask my husband’s credit card :/

-Katie

________________________________________________________________

3/7/17
What are your thoughts on this book so far? There are so many great suggestions for how to start or stop forming habits. I appreciate that Rubin took the time to analyze the 4 habit-forming areas that will boost our self-control (or feeling like we have it anyway.) They were:

  1. sleep (my current personal goal is to get at least 6 hours until my little guy learns to sleep through the night)
  2. move/exercise (at least 30 mins. a day/ 5 days a week is ideal)
  3. eat & drink right (this has made a phenomenal difference for me in the energy I feel throughout the day)
  4. unclutter (my *biggest* weakness by far; I just love stuff in general….& this is not a good thing as we are getting ready to move. 😦 It’s time to go through our stuff again & decide what really ought to stay with us & what things are no longer being used.)

Please post reactions to our comments or share any thoughts you’re having as you read along! Thanks for joining us this month in our first book club endeavor!

-Katie

 

 

 

 

Hello & welcome everybody! The month of March has just begun, but some of you avid readers may have already located or purchased this book to participate in the book club forum with us. 🙂 If you’re not convinced yet that this is a good or time worthy book, let me share one thought from the beginning of the book that is sure to pique your interest at the very least.

When people told the author, Rubin, about a change that had boosted their happiness, a “before & after” (if you will), they often pointed to the formation of a crucial habit. It is true that habits (both good & bad) take a while to form, but we can feel so much more accomplished when we invest the time to reform or reinvent ourselves.

Think about that, for just a minute, dear reader. A newer, spunkier, happier, committed version of you. #selflove

Get ready to read & love this book! Feel free to share quotes & insights in the comments section as you go, &happy weekend to you!

-Katie


3/7/17
What are your thoughts on this book so far? There are so many great suggestions for how to start or stop forming habits. I appreciate that Rubin took the time to analyze the 4 habit-forming areas that will boost our self-control (or feeling like we have it anyway.) They were:

  1. sleep (my current personal goal is to get at least 6 hours until my little guy learns to sleep through the night)
  2. move/exercise (at least 30 mins. a day/ 5 days a week is ideal)
  3. eat & drink right (this has made a phenomenal difference for me in the energy I feel throughout the day)
  4. unclutter (my *biggest* weakness by far; I just love stuff in general….& this is not a good thing as we are getting ready to move. 😦 It’s time to go through our stuff again & decide what really ought to stay with us & what things are no longer being used.)

Please post reactions to our comments or share any thoughts you’re having as you read along! Thanks for joining us this month in our first book club endeavor!

-Katie

Leave a Reply

